Juan Williams Was Fired from NPR Because He’s a Liberal and They’re Leftists

The Democratic Party of JFK is no more. Now you have the Democratic Party of Saul Alinsky, Herbert Marcuse and Antonio Gramsci. This is why NPR would fire its best reporter for the thoughtcrime of appearing on FNC.

Amplify’d from www.newsrealblog.com

Scientists estimate that more than 99% of the species that have ever existed on this planet are now extinct. Some species simply adapted into others. Some were obliterated in mass die-offs. Others could not adapt to changing environments. And more recently, others were hunted to death.

Within the jungle of American politics, one animal has been in steady decline for the past thirty years: the liberal. After the shot fired last week at Juan Williams by his former employer NPR, this trend should be even more apparent.

Williams is not a leftist. He’s a liberal in the tradition of John F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King, Jr. (Just take a look at the books he’s written on the Civil Rights Movement.) He’s not an Obama leftist who drank from the cup of Saul Alinsky, Billy Ayers, and Jeremiah Wright.

A “liberal” properly defined is someone in the middle of the political spectrum — an individual open-minded to different ideas and willing to consider all manner of solutions. That’s what Williams is. That’s why he’s willing to appear on Fox News regularly. And that’s why genuine leftists from Glenn Greenwald to Media Matters are throwing him under the bus. (Leftists hate genuine liberals even more than they hate conservatives.

Williams wasn’t really fired for his mild comments. That was just the tipping point. Really NPR could not handle him being a genuine liberal by going on Fox News. From Williams’ column:

I say an ideological battle because my comments on “The O’Reilly Factor” are being distorted by the self-righteous ideological, left-wing leadership at NPR. They are taking bits and pieces of what I said to go after me for daring to have a conversation with leading conservative thinkers. They loathe the fact that I appear on Fox News. They don’t notice that I am challenging Bill O’Reilly and trading ideas with Sean Hannity. In their hubris they think by talking with O’Reilly or Hannity I am lending them legitimacy. Believe me, Bill O’Reilly (and Sean, too) is a major force in American culture and politics whether or not I appear on his show.

Years ago NPR tried to stop me from going on “The Factor.” When I refused they insisted that I not identify myself as an NPR journalist. I asked them if they thought people did not know where I appeared on the air as a daily talk show host, national correspondent and news analyst. They refused to budge.

Read more at www.newsrealblog.com