Gulfport/Biloxi MS Tax Day Tea Party

Pass it around!

WHAT
TAX DAY TEA PARTY – GULFPORT, MS
WHERE
Gulfport Sportsplex (Directions)
17200 16th St
Gulfport, MS 39503
WHEN
April 15, 2009 a little bit before 6PM Central Time. If they show up, TV Cameras from WLOX-TV will be there at 6PM so do not be late. Bring a smile, a handshake, a positive attitude and a chair. Don’t expect to find seating at the Sportsplex. Bring a chair. Really.
WHY
On December 16, 1773 three tea ships were docked in Boston Harbor. The Collector of Customs for Boston stated that he would not allow the ships to leave the harbor until the tea tax had been paid. The Americans, understanding that if they paid the duty, no matter how small it was, they would acknowledge and reinforce the British Parliament’s right to levy on them any tax it wanted. Some 7,000 angry Bostonians watched the ships that day. That night about 200 men disguised themselves as Indians, marched to the wharf while hooting and hollering, and threw the cargoes of tea into Boston Harbor.

In 1773 the imposition of a relatively petty tax led to the original Boston Tea Party.

In 2008 and 2009 the US Congress ignored emails, faxes, and phone calls from their constituents between 10:1 and 100:1 against the TARP and Stimulus bills and passed them anyway. The result is another $2-$3 trillion of national debt, trillion dollar deficits as far as the eye can see, failed bailouts of failed companies that continue on to bankruptcy, trillions lent to banks that turn around and overcharge customers, and the printing of massive amounts of new money. Congress has become a legislative body that does not represent the people. Americans did not vote for economic chaos, but that is what they got. Tax Day Tea Parties are a protest against taxation gone mad, against local, state, and national governments that expect we the people to sacrifice financially so the government can grow during an economic downturn, against a Congress that does not represent us, and against the foolishness of past government decisions that has landed us in this economic position. If you think that deserves protest, no matter what your political affiliation might be otherwise, please join us.

WATCH OUT!
Be aware there will be attempts to embarrass the Tea Party movement by having infiltrators join demonstrations and act obscene, violent or crazy in front of television cameras. We don’t know if this will happen in Gulfport. Beware anyway.

Pass this around! Be there. Be safe. Have fun. Listen, Learn, and Share.

beaglescout-48.jpg

Trackposted to Blog @ MoreWhat.com, Political Byline, third world county, The World According to Carl, The Pink Flamingo, CORSARI D’ITALIA, Right Voices, and Stageleft, thanks to Linkfest Haven Deluxe. Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Gulfport/Biloxi MS Tax Day Tea Party

  1. First, thanks for organizing and hosting tonights event. I was there this evening and impressed with the turn-out. The crowd was great, enthusiastic (for a while), and well mannered. I hope this is just the first of many such events here on the coast and across the nation. I do, however, have some concerns about whether or not the level of enthusiasim can be sustained if the same format is followed during future events. My concerns are based on the following (and I’m sorry I did not remember most of the names of the speakers/organizers):
    – the lady that spoke, in my opinion, hijacked the event by remaining at the podium much too long. For the first 10 minutes, I was very impressed with her. After the first 40 minutes, I felt like I was at a lecture that was about 4 levels below the knowledge (and interest?) level of the audience. As I looked around, I could see that she had lost the audience and that the energy was not going to return for future speakers.
    – The speaker that followed her used their time to air grievences about specific members of Congress and the Senate. To what end? There’s nothing we can do in South Mississippi that will have any impact on whether or not the people of California re-elect Nancy Pelosi. These personal attacks just make us look hateful, in my opinion. We should be focused on what we believe in and what we object to while leaving the personalities out of it. The audience was obviously well versed in who the opposition is and didn’t need a re-hash of the personal transgressions of those individuals.
    – By the time Mr Mienus (sp?) spoke, I was a bit frustrated and the crowd had grown restless. Conversations were breaking out among the audience members and people were leaving. Even though I found Mr Mienus both entertaining and enlightening, I was having difficulty focusing with the other things going on around me. As good a speaker as he was, he still could not recapture the energy of the crowd that had been evident when the event started. I left around 7:30pm, before he finished speaking and before audience members has an opportunity to speak.
    I offer my comments not to disparage the organizers but to encourage them to look at the effectiveness of the process and fine tune it for future events. Keep the presentations short and on point. Keep the audience engaged and enthusiastic. They were there for a purpose- help them build on it.
    Again, thank you for pulling all this together. It takes a tremendous effort and drain on your personal time to champion such an event. I know we can have a positive impact on the future of our country if we pull together at this critical time. Your leadership can help guide us there.

  2. Hi Terrill,

    I was there too. I didn’t speak, and I agree with you on many of your points. Since a lot of the most insane problems we have are national ones created by the Federal government, it’s natural for people to invoke names like Pelosi (boo) and ACORN (BOOOO, was that an unpopular name or what?), because we all hear about it. But did anyone mention the newest tax news from Mississippi?

    Here’s the deal. I’ve never lived somewhere where I have to pay north of $1000 a year for the privilege of owning a recent model KIA minivan, until I lived in MS. The state tax czars have decided to raise all our auto tag renewal fees *by reducing the discount*. In other words they didn’t technically raise the tax. But they raised it for all practical purposes. Is your Mississippi car tag expensive enough or do you want to pay more? Someone should have raised up this issue, which is one we can do something about.

    Now when it comes to your concerns about raising up hate, or about being perceived by the biased media liars as raising up hate, I’m not buying it. The media will accuse everyone who goes to a Tea Party protest of being a hater by default. No matter what you do you will be accused of being a hater, a racist, and anti-Obama. They are doing that because the media is an unofficial arm of the Obama permanent campaign (which ought to have to account for this under McCain-Feingold if you ask me). Since the smears are going to happen no matter what, it’s time to raise the middle finger to the media. Don’t listen to them. Listen to your heart, but more so to logic and facts.

    Remember, we outnumber them. 70-75% of Americans believe in traditional values and principles including the free market and freedom in general. If we let them bully us into buying in to their bailout/giveaway promises then we will lose our will to work hard, to study, to save, to stay married, to value our children, or to succeed. Their programs and value systems will destroy us if we buy into it. So hold on to your traditional principles and fight the kings of today. We will not allow them to enslave us with their attractive but illusory temptations.

  3. Beaglescout, Thanks for the feedback.
    You said:
    “Now when it comes to your concerns about raising up hate, or about being perceived by the biased media liars as raising up hate, I’m not buying it. The media will accuse everyone who goes to a Tea Party protest of being a hater by default. No matter what you do you will be accused of being a hater, a racist, and anti-Obama. They are doing that because the media is an unofficial arm of the Obama permanent campaign (which ought to have to account for this under McCain-Feingold if you ask me). Since the smears are going to happen no matter what, it’s time to raise the middle finger to the media. Don’t listen to them. Listen to your heart, but more so to logic and facts.”

    Please re-read my comment with respect to this topic. I could care less what the media has to say about conservatives and our values. I no longer value their opinion so their viewpoint has no impact on my thinking whatsoever.

    I couched my statement as my opinion and that’s just what it is. I think lashing out constantly about something you can’t do anything about is a waste of energy and makes us look like we can only regurgitate the talking points we find in the media – on the right or the left. We are smarter than that. We just need to focus and place our energy where it counts. Your point about taxes in Mississippi is a good example of where we can make a difference.

    I will state emphatically that I view both Nancy Pelosi and ACORN with the greatest disdain. If I ever have the chance to protest Pelosi directly or in a forum where I can be effective, I’ll be at the head or the line. You reiterated my point, however. The fact that the crowd booed loudly at the mention of certain names says they are well versed in their positions and records. A little of that is okay but I think it went on too long. Bring forward original ideas and data. Again, my opinion.

    Finally, the subject of looking hateful, specifically. I was refering to folks like me that get turned off by over-the-top retoric that is, in all honesty, impotent. I am in locked step with the overall objectives of the TEA parties. I’m just voicing my opinion on the method of delivery, asking the organizers to acknowledge that some will be turned off and tune out if they feel they are wasting their time and energy.

    As Dennis Miller used to say – “But, hey, that’s just my opinion. I could be wrong.”

  4. Very interesting. I have no argument with anything you write. So the next question is how do we pass this conversation on to the actual organizers?

  5. Great question. I assumed (obviously incorrectly) that this site was the home of the organizers……

  6. I’m just another neocon. That means I was a Democrat until 4 years ago, then I started examining my values and principles and discovered I didn’t fit with the Democrats any more, if I ever did. My principles were just about as conservative as you can get. So, newly conservative = neo-con.

    You can imagine the stress this caused with the wife.

    But I took the red pill and there was no turning back.

Comments are closed.