What’s up with the Big Three TV Networks?

Michael Schneider reports for Variety that the Big 3 TV Networks have been losing share and ratings for two decades and that the bigwigs in the top floor of the skyscrapers are getting nervous. They lost 13% among adults between 18 and 49 last year. A writers strike damaged them. The actors are planning to go out on strike this year. They are thinking about dropping an hour of prime time, turning it over to the local affiliates. They are thinking about turning over Friday and Saturday nights to production companies or advertisers, kind of the same way they have already turned over Saturday morning to third party producers. Fox broadcast is already planning to change its Saturday morning schedule from cartoons to infomercials. They are thinking about going off the air and into cable.

beaglescout-48.jpg

Technorati Tags: ,

2 thoughts on “What’s up with the Big Three TV Networks?

  1. *heh* I watch so very little of the big three (and none at all of “See BS” since Ra<supthergate) that I doubt very much I’d miss anything that’s on any of ’em except Chuck (the true 21st Century heir to Get Smart–less witty, less camp, altogether duller, but still the computer geek in me is hooked ;-)).

    With cable the source of 3 out of four “must watch” shows for me (comprising a garand total of four hours a week of “must watch” time–*heh*) and providing me with blazingly fast internet access (loads of good video on demand), I go days (seven at a time, in fact) between my tunings-in to an Old Media Big Three channel.

    And you know, when it gets right down to it, I can do without Chuck, too. My Walter Mitty-ish computer geek fantasies don’t need much of a boost, anyway. 🙂

  2. This is the second time this week that someone has recommended Chuck to me. I may check it out on hulu.com. My broadcast must-see is Fringe. It’s very comparable in twistyness and acting to X-Files, and like X-Files is on Fox network. Otherwise I watch Doctor Who when it’s on SFC, plus various documentaries, some sports, etc. Only the sports are on the big 3.

Comments are closed.