Mississippi Senate and House Primary Races

A list of primary candidates for US National Legislative seats in Mississippi.


Roger Wicker (R) | Campaign Site
Active Candidates:

Thad Cochran (R)
* Next Election in 2008.
Active Candidates:


District 1:
Roger Wicker (R)
* Appointed to the US Senate on December 31, 2007.

Active Candidates:

  • Greg Davis (R)
    Southaven Mayor, Ex-State Rep. & Civil Engineer
  • Glenn McCullough (R)
    Ex-Tupelo Mayor, Ex-TVA Board Chair & Business Consultant
  • Randy Russell (R)
    Opthamologist & Ex-State Board of Health Member
  • Travis Childers (D)
    Prentiss County Chancery Clerk & Businessman
  • Marshall Coleman (D)
    Calhoun Alderman, Convenience Store Owner, Army Veteran & ’07 State Rep. Nominee
  • J.K. “Ken” Hurt (D)
    Political Consultant & ’06 Nominee
  • Steve Holland (D)
    State Rep., Farmer, Funeral Home Owner & Ex-Congressional Aide
  • Brian Neely (D)
    Attorney & USMC Veteran
  • John Wages Jr. (Green)
    Ex-State Party Chair, Lee County Elections Board Member, College Professor & Farmer
  • Wally Pang (Independent)
    Restaurant Owner & ’07 State Rep. GOP Nominee

District 2:
Bennie Thompson (D) | Campaign Site

Active Candidates:

  • Dorothy “Dot” Benford (D)
  • Richard Cook (R)

District 3:
Chip Pickering (R)
* Retiring in 2008.

Active Candidates:

District 4:
Gene Taylor (D)

Active Candidates:

  • John McCay III (R)
    Methodist Minister & Air National Guard Officer