Mississippi Senate and House Primary Races

A list of primary candidates for US National Legislative seats in Mississippi.


Roger Wicker (R) | Campaign Site
Active Candidates:

Thad Cochran (R)
* Next Election in 2008.
Active Candidates:


District 1:
Roger Wicker (R)
* Appointed to the US Senate on December 31, 2007.

Active Candidates:

  • Greg Davis (R)
    Southaven Mayor, Ex-State Rep. & Civil Engineer
  • Glenn McCullough (R)
    Ex-Tupelo Mayor, Ex-TVA Board Chair & Business Consultant
  • Randy Russell (R)
    Opthamologist & Ex-State Board of Health Member
  • Travis Childers (D)
    Prentiss County Chancery Clerk & Businessman
  • Marshall Coleman (D)
    Calhoun Alderman, Convenience Store Owner, Army Veteran & ’07 State Rep. Nominee
  • J.K. “Ken” Hurt (D)
    Political Consultant & ’06 Nominee
  • Steve Holland (D)
    State Rep., Farmer, Funeral Home Owner & Ex-Congressional Aide
  • Brian Neely (D)
    Attorney & USMC Veteran
  • John Wages Jr. (Green)
    Ex-State Party Chair, Lee County Elections Board Member, College Professor & Farmer
  • Wally Pang (Independent)
    Restaurant Owner & ’07 State Rep. GOP Nominee

District 2:
Bennie Thompson (D) | Campaign Site

Active Candidates:

  • Dorothy “Dot” Benford (D)
  • Richard Cook (R)

District 3:
Chip Pickering (R)
* Retiring in 2008.

Active Candidates:

District 4:
Gene Taylor (D)

Active Candidates:

  • John McCay III (R)
    Methodist Minister & Air National Guard Officer

Uno Won One

Old news, I know. But I hadn’t set up the blog yet at the time. In fact, Uno was one of the reasons I set the blog up.

Beagle owners, show your pride.

What a handsome hound he is.

Trackposted to third world county, The World According to Carl, Shadowscope, Pirate’s Cove, The Pink Flamingo, Cao’s Blog, Big Dog’s Weblog, Adeline and Hazel, Pursuing Holiness, and The Yankee Sailor, thanks to Linkfest Haven Deluxe.

tag: , , ,

Jackson County MS – Qualifying County Candidates for 2008 Election

Since the local newspapers don’t seem to give a toot about informing we the Mississippi voters who is running for office in our area, we bloggers will have to do the work. The Qualifying Candidates in Jackson County MS for the 2008 Election are:

As of deadline: 3-1-07 5:00 p.m. 

Sheriff 1-2-07 Republican Mike Byrd 1-2-07 Republican Jeff Barnes 2-23-07 Democrat Jerry C. Watson 3-1-07 Democrat Walter ‘Beau’ Bohl Chancery Clerk 1-2-07 Republican Terry Miller 1-2-07 Republican Bebe A. Sutherland Circuit Clerk 1-2-07 Democrat Joe W. Martin, Jr. Tax Assessor 1-3-07 Republican Luther B. ‘Benny’ Goff, Jr. 3-1-07 Democrat Wanda Williams Tax Collector 1-2-07 Republican Joseph ‘Joe’ Tucker 1-2-07 Republican Susan Powell 2-23-07 Republican Jim Sukiennik 2-28-07 Republican Kenneth D. McKeown 3-1-07 Republican Mary Ann Fontenot County Prosecuting Attorney 1-4-07 Democrat Mark H. Watts 3-1-07 Democrat Wanda Williams Jackson County Superintendent of Education 1-12-07 Democrat Jerry ‘J.J.’ Morgan 1-18-07 Republican Barry Amacker 1-18-07 Republican Dino Ray Vecchio 2-07-07 Withdrawn 2-13-07 Democrat Carl Pearce Member, Board of Supervisors - District #1 1-2-07 Republican Manly Barton 1-4-07 Democrat Gary Bell 1-15-07 Democrat Larry D. Wilkerson 2-26-07 Democrat Kenny Wells Member, Board of Supervisors - District #2 1-4-07 Democrat Robert R. Norvel, Sr. 2-22-07 Democrat Melton Harris, Jr. 3-1-07 Democrat Bennie E. McLaughlin Member, Board of Supervisors - District #3 1-2-07 Republican Mike Mangum 1-3-07 Republican Nicholas ‘Nick’ L. Richards 1-18-07 Independent Michael C. Majure Member, Board of Supervisors - District #4 1-8-07 Republican Fred ‘Chic’ Cody 1-17-07 Republican Tommy Brodnax 2-8-07 Republican Franklin E. ‘Frank’ Leach 2-13-07 Republican Terry L. Armstrong 2-23-07 Republican Stacy J. Carmichael 2-27-07 Democrat James ‘Ralph’ Cruthirds 3-1-07 Republican Charles A. Seymour 3-1-07 Republican Rick Barlow Member, Board of Supervisors - District #5 1-2-07 Republican John McKay Surveyor 2-27-07 Republican Thomas ‘Mike’ Vickery 2-28-07 Republican Lloyd ‘Jim’ Achee, Jr. Coroner 1-2-07 Republican Vicki L. Broadus Justice Court Judge - District #1 1-2-07 Republican Cecil E. Byrd, Jr. 1-29-07 Republican Jackie England Switzer Justice Court Judge - District #2 1-2-07 Democrat Ennis Millender, Sr. Justice Court Judge - District #3 1-2-07 Republican Jason Thornton Justice Court Judge - District #4 1-3-07 Republican David McVeay 2-27-07 Republican Michael “Santo” Santobianco 2-28-07 Democrat Bill Kulick 2-28-07 Independent Samuel L. ‘Sam’ Tucker, Sr. Constable - District #1 1-2-07 Republican Ty Thompson 1-24-07 Democrat Archie Fairley Constable - District #2 1-2-07 Democrat Donald E. Moffett 1-4-07 Democrat Calvin W. Hutchins 1-9-07 Democrat Jerry Bridges 2-1-07 Democrat Freddie J. Vaughans Constable - District #3 1-4-07 Republican K. Shane Langfitt 2-23-07 Democrat Shawn M. Senseney 2-27-07 Republican David Cole, 8402 Autumn Ridge Dr. Constable - District #4 1-3-07 Republican L. Claire Inabinette 1-3-07 Republican Robert L. Anderson

More later when I do a little googling.

Trackposted to A Blog For All, third world county, The World According to Carl, Shadowscope, Pirate’s Cove, The Pink Flamingo, Big Dog’s Weblog, Cao’s Blog, Gulf Coast Hurricane Tracker, A Newt One, Adeline and Hazel, Pursuing Holiness, and The Yankee Sailor, thanks to Linkfest Haven Deluxe.

tag: , , ,

Gary Gygax, RIP

Gary Gygax died earlier today at his home in Lake Geneva, apparently of an abdominal aneurysm.

Jim Kerstetter, Glenn Gaslin, and Andrew Leonard offer up their own homages.

Gary Gygax was the man who more than any others inspired me to read history, mythology, folklore, anthropology (the traditional stuff, not the new anthropology that encourages partition into identity groups and tribes), to write imaginative and analytical pieces daily, to empathize and identify with others of all types, to analyze things for myself to determine how the world really worked, and eventually to remake my life and become the man I’ve since become.

I started with the three little tan books in the white box and quickly went on to AD&D and its Monster Manual, Player’s Handbook, and Dungeon Master’s Guide. I played D&D with friends for years, then in college at Swarthmore went on to a huge assortment of other tabletop roleplaying games, though Runequest (often called Rulequest in honor of its detailed rules) was the one that captured my interest the most for its wonderful world of Glorantha. But that is another story.

In this article, Paul La Farge captures some of the magic in Dungeons and Dragons. For those who have never played tabletop roleplaying games, they are utterly different from computer roleplaying games. The most obvious difference is that they involve actual face-to-face interaction with other living, breathing people. The second difference, which La Farge mentions, is that the way to “win” was to cooperate, not compete.

God bless you, Gary Gygax, the original Dungeon Master. You and your work were an inspiration to many.

Trackposted to Rosemary’s Thoughts, A Blog For All, third world county, DragonLady’s World, The World According to Carl, Shadowscope, Pirate’s Cove, The Pink Flamingo, Big Dog’s Weblog, Cao’s Blog, A Newt One, Right Voices, Pursuing Holiness, and The Yankee Sailor, thanks to Linkfest Haven Deluxe.

tag: ,